Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRap India

Posted by bootstrap 
RepRap India
July 13, 2008 07:00AM
Hi,I am totally new to this.I want to build a REPRAP (I am a robotics research student from India).I am trying to convince the authorities at my college for funds.When I looked into the link for getting the parts,I came across many suppliers and even since I am building the printer for the first time,I guess I have to go for the printing services.What will be the total cost for the materials along with the printing services.
diego
Re: RepRap India
July 13, 2008 08:31AM
printed parts are very expensive

try to ask bitsfrombytes for the molded parts wich are much cheaper

diego
July 13, 2008 09:53AM
It looks like USD$1395 is a very good price for a set of commercially RP'd parts.

By comparison a FULL set of mechanicals (including cast versions of all the RP-able plastic parts, metal parts, and motors!) is GBP
July 13, 2008 02:08PM
You may want to consider building a RepStrap, or bootstrap RepRap machine.

A RepStrap is basically a 3-axis positioning system of your own design, with an extruder head mounted on it.
This design:
[www.reprap.org]
is one of the possibilities. Other RepStrap builders have had success using a (benchtop-size) milling machine as their 3-axis positioning system. You might be able to find proxxon brand mills in India, or Chinese made 'mill-drills'.

Also remember that you can fabricate the extruder head parts using a CNC mill, if you have access to one.
July 14, 2008 02:23AM
here's my bit since I'm at a similar juncture (done with electronics but need to do cartesian)...

Ask yourself what kind of reprapper you are...

1) would you be stoked building as much of it yourself (via repstrap initially)?
2) or is your purpose to use the finished reprap for its intended purpose, without messing with the process of procuring parts and building?