Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need some guidance on building slightly modified printer

Posted by ChuangTzu 
Need some guidance on building slightly modified printer
October 09, 2012 01:36AM
Hey everyone,

I've been lurking around here for a while but am now trying to stop procrastinating and start building.

First I need to know what I'm building smiling smiley

I have a lot of experience with 3d printing on a BfB3000 at work. I've even done a few mods like re-making the bed holder out of MDF and building an aluminum heated bed. I also moved the plastic spools above the frame and routed them directly into the extruder heads, etc... Nothing too fancy.

I am building this 3d printer for a specific purpose and as such I have some specific requirements for it. Mainly, my issues are with bed size. I need approximately 280mm in either X or Y. The other lateral dimension and Z can each be approximately 150mm. I have seen some designs that are much bigger than this, and some that are almost big enough but not quite. Ideally, I would be able to upgrade this machine to print nylon in the future which would mean replacing most of the plastic parts with MDF, metal, or something else, but for the time being, I just need to get up and running as soon as possible.

I'm trying to find the path of least resistance from an existing design to what I am looking for, but my mind is kind of blown by the sheer number of possible paths out there. Trying to understand all of the possible combinations I could try and their pros and cons is dizzying. Hence, I need a bit of guidance to help me sort through all of this.

From what I can tell, I need to choose all of the following in a compatible way:

-Frame design
-Axes design
-Bearings
-Bed material
-Bed heating method
-Bed heating electronics
-Stepper motors
-Brains