Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ShadowRam's - First Build - Large Custom

Posted by ShadowRam 
ShadowRam's - First Build - Large Custom
April 16, 2013 01:18PM
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the RepRap community.

I've recently got my hands on a Cartesian Bot that I've decided to take the plunge and make it into a 3D Printer.

It's fairly large compared to the standard RepRap machines I've seen.

I'm documenting my progress on a blog I've set up at www.shadowram.ca

I sure I'll be on here and the IRC channel asking all sorts of questions.

Everything you see on the frame, I acquired for $100. smileys with beer

So when all said and done, I'm expecting this build to cost me ~$500-$600

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/16/2013 01:19PM by ShadowRam.
Re: ShadowRam's - First Build - Large Custom
April 16, 2013 04:22PM
It looks like essentially you've built a cnc machine and your putting an extruder where the tool head would go. Nice job using scrap parts for the frame build. I'm wondering what kind of speeds you're going to get though. Let me know when you find out. I take it you are mostly going to be printing in PLA since a heated bed of this size will be difficult. Even with PLA you're probably going to need to build a raft when printing otherwise you will be fighting curling a lot with larger based prints. I have a desktop cnc that I've thought about adding an extruder to but I always run into another reprap I want to build or design. I like the chain drive, I saw quite a few different kinds like that a few days ago that I've been contemplating. Let me know how it all works out. Happy building.

--------------| For Everything |--------------------------
Check it out here:
[reprapsquad.wordpress.com].
---------| For Everything Prototype Related |------
Now featuring comp case mods:
[RepRapLab.wordpress.com]

--------------| Find us at Twitter|------------------------
@REPRAPSQUAD (RS Main)
[mobile.twitter.com]
@REPRAPSQUADHQ (ProtoLab)