Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printer Ignores Endstops

Posted by Nununugent 
Printer Ignores Endstops
November 12, 2013 10:16PM
I have a MendelMax 1.5 and RAMPS 1.4
When my printer moves the print head around by manuely clicking in Printrun, it would gladly pass right through the end stops. When I press an endstop switch with my finger and do a M119 in Printrun it recognizes when each switch is pressed(X,Y,Z), but it doesn't stop the motors from moving. Is this OK, and I can ignore it, or is there some setting in Marlin that I am missing? I am a newbie so any help is greatly appreciated!
Re: Printer Ignores Endstops
November 12, 2013 10:47PM
Using Marlin firmware only the x, y, z home buttons in Pronterface will use the end stops. Manual moves will ignore the end stops - be careful, you can damage things.
November 13, 2013 12:28PM
In Configuration_adv.h there's a line that controls whether the endstops are used only for homing or all the time. The default is for the endstops to be ignored except for homing.

#define ENDSTOPS_ONLY_FOR_HOMING // If defined the endstops will only be used for homing

Help improve the RepRap wiki!
Just click "Edit" in the top-right corner of the page and start typing.
Anyone can edit the wiki!
November 13, 2013 12:41PM
When setting up:

1) Make sure the moves are in the right direction.
2) Make sure the "home" positon is where you want it (home moves towards the end stops etc)
3) Make sure that the distance it moves is correct.

If all of that is ok, you can move on in your setup process.
November 14, 2013 12:05AM
Hey guys! Thanks so much for the feedback. I spent several hours tonight trying to fix another problem and I have to go to bed before I wake up with a keyboard imprinted on my face. I will come back to this as soon as I can, thanks!
November 14, 2013 07:33AM
Your printer did come with the mandatory warning - "this stuff may be habit forming" didn't it? smoking smiley
November 17, 2013 02:29PM