Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Slic3r setup during install

Posted by abarnes 
Slic3r setup during install
January 08, 2014 04:10AM
Hi,

I am new to the Reprap community and am in the process of commisioning my Mendel Tricolour printer. I am having a bit of trouble importing an stl file into the pronterface. I have got the Slic3r window open from pronterface. I am following the procedure on the wiki page but cannot load the stl file using the load file button. I get an error in the log window as below:

IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '.\\Software-master/slic3r.ini'

All of the Slic3r files are in my default directory along with the pronterface.py file.

Can anyone help me please?
Thanks for any help.
Andy.
Re: Slic3r setup during install
January 08, 2014 05:33AM
You don't say which operating system you are running but for the purposes of this reply I will assume its Windows 7 or above.

It looks like you have downloaded the distribution from the github, what you should have done is to download the Windows precompiled binary from link under 'commissioning' in the ReprapPeo documentation wiki above the one pointing to the github link, It downloads as a zip file called 'RepRapPro-Printrun-Slic3r.zip', Inside the zip is a directory called Win7 which you need to unzip into an appropriate place on your PC (don't use c:\Program Files, or c:\Program File (X86) as you may get issues with access rights on these). You also need to download the print profiles from the wiki and install these in the profiles directory under the Win7 one. You then run 'proterface.exe'.

Hope this helps

Harvey.
January 08, 2014 11:09AM
Thanks Harvey.

I am using Widows XP. I have looked again at the precompiled binary for windows and will install this.

Andy
January 09, 2014 02:58AM
Hi Ralph,

I have tried using the pre-compiled link but this is for Windows 7 not XP. Is there one for XP?

Thanks for your help.
Andy,
January 09, 2014 05:58AM