Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noob Post:Need Help in building a repstrap

Posted by IndianTinker 
Noob Post:Need Help in building a repstrap
February 23, 2014 08:47AM
Hi Reprappers,
I am an electrical engineer by education and know about the stepper and control aspects of 3D printers but the mechanical nomenclature confuses me a lot. I want to build a rep strap as cheap as possible while not compromising on the key aspects.I have access to a laser cutter in India and can also 3D print some parts provided they are in budget.
I have read the website most of it and really love the revolution it more of a cult that empowers. There are a lot of people selling 3D printers in India but they are very expensive for a student/lab to afford.
I have also build my own stepper drivers based on TI`s DRV88xx series and have tested them to work with bipolar motors. That will greatly reduce the costs as i already have an arduino and hence the cost of electronics would be greatly reduced.I also know some basics of 3D designing in SketchUP and OpenSCAD ! I also got the opportunity to 3D print a Box i made in sketchup while doing an intern that was really exciting.I can also do some 2D designing in Corel (This is becoz my laser cut parts supplier excepts only cdr )
That was my background. Now here are my questions:
  1. How to get started? Mechanical know how?
  2. I don`t want to concentrate on aesthetics.Low cost and functional is all i want. Can you suggest some standard repstrap/repraps?
  3. I have heard a lot of people using Marlin Firmware. Does it run on ARM CortexM4 or only arduino? I can work on porting it to TI's TIVA based processors.
  4. Where to source parts for mechanical construction? Do standard hardware/ machinery repair technicians stock them?
  5. The extruders ? Is there any one with that can be made with a laser cutter or better comes as it is i.e. you can buy for cheap?

Thanks a lot! Hoping for a reply soon!

Rohit