Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Don't know what to do next....

Posted by hankd 
Don't know what to do next....
February 24, 2014 04:45PM
Hello all,

I'm new to everything (RepRap, 3D printing, etc...). But I'm trying to figure out what is next on my end. I just recently bought/built a MendalMax. I have everything together and I've installed sprinter firmware on my ramps board. Also install pronterface, now here is where I'm lost. I'm not really sure what to do after this. I'm not really sure how to calibration/run the printer so I'm able to get printing. Any help is appreciated..

-hank
Re: Don't know what to do next....
February 24, 2014 05:19PM
Check the wiki under commissioning your reprap.
February 24, 2014 11:08PM
As a newbie myself, I have figured this out with the help of other of course. But correct me if I am wrong on this as I am still learning. spinning smiley sticking its tongue out
Pronterface and Slic3r are used together.

Once you have the .stl file open it in Slic3r.

There you can change the settings of the print itself like the extruder temp/ bed temp, fan speeds etc. you cannot open .stl file from pronterface and print because you do not know what the settings for that file are yet.

click File->quick slice and save as - here you select the .stl file you want to slice.( this is what generates the GCode by slicing the .stl file. it creates the path for the printer and values associated with the file itself like temp and extrusion i think) then in the Plater you export the Gcode and save it

Now you open Pronterface and set the temp for the filament you are using so that they preheat. Once the desired temp is reached you can load the File from Slic3r that you exported and then you should be able to print.

I am having various issues after this point with jamming but hope this helps you understand the process. I am using QU-BD extruder.

Sincerely,

Janski
February 24, 2014 11:11PM
Thanks Maxx and Janski,