Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mega 2560 Keeps burning out. I have burnt two out.

Posted by nicayd 
Mega 2560 Keeps burning out. I have burnt two out.
March 17, 2014 04:27AM
Hi guys. My first post here of hopefully many. I have been building or at least trying to build a Kossel mini. This is the first printer I have built and to be honest I am a bit of a noob when it comes to the electronics. Anyway, I have burnt out two generic Mega2560s , this is really frustrating because it is the only part I have left to do before I can print (not to mention costly) :'(.

Anyway I plan on ordereing 2 more (just to be safe), but there has got to be something I am doing wrong which is burning out the Megas which I dont know why. I have tried running both of the audrinos without the ramps connected and the computer will not detect them at all, they still both light up.

I noticed a smell coming from the second mega so I turned it off straight away once I noticed it, but it was too late the same thing.

Here is a picture of my Ramps board, I feel as though it might have something to do with how my power supply is connected to it. The power supply is a Thermaltake 420W (so its not too bad, but it is a still a generic ATX PSU).

If anybody has any suggestions I would really appreciate it, because I am really lost and fed up sad smiley.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/17/2014 06:57AM by nicayd.
Attachments:
open | download - reprap.jpg (219.1 KB)
Re: Mega 2560 Keeps burning out. I have burn two out.
March 17, 2014 04:38AM
Post a picture of your Mega..

March 17, 2014 04:51AM
Here is a picture of both of my megas
Attachments:
open | download - mega1.jpg (531.1 KB)
open | download - mega2.jpg (542.4 KB)
Re: Mega 2560 Keeps burning out. I have burnt two out.
March 17, 2014 09:01AM