Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMPS 1.4 full signal breakout

Posted by Abysium 
RAMPS 1.4 full signal breakout
April 15, 2014 10:55AM
Hello everyone!

Im fairly new to the 3D printing scene, here just for the last half a year and loving it full force.

My current machine is an I3, and the thing is awesome (current resolution i use is 0.08)
So I have a heated bed, 2 extruders, active extruder cooling (e3d fm), active motor cooling (just spliced in the 12V line on the psu), active print cooling
(the print cooling fans are currently on a manual bangbang configuration, as I am waiting for the RRD fan extender to arrive) and a lcd+rotary+sd combo
I have many more ideas with a varying amount of sensibility I would like to incorporate in the dessign, but need some help.
Currently working on my Z probe, I started wondering how many more signals I can pull out of the RAMPS that I could operate with Gcode.

So my question is; how can I pull out the maximum amount of signals out of RAMPS1.4 ?
Im using the AUX3 for the SD card and still have AUX 1 and 2 and SERVOS empty
So I imagine the fan extender will go into one of the AUX'es, the Zprobe servo probably goes somwhere in SERVOS and its probe would go into Zendstops.
Am I allready to full to pack in a BlueTooth module?

Regardless of the BT module (which in my thoughts is a vanity item)

Can I pull out any more servos ? any more digitals?
ideas I am working on are:
-motorised chamber opening (closed chamber - motorised door)
-motorised removal of heatbed insulation cover for faster heatup
-automated adhesion spraying (dont even ask, just needs 1 bangbang signal)

I could do more, but I stopped brainstorming after someone reminded me I could be low on signals, so untill I know I can pull out enough commands, I am not working on an automated print removing system.