Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noob Mendel assembly help

Posted by Uncas 
Noob Mendel assembly help
July 08, 2010 03:58PM
Hi all,

While I'm a relatively savvy guy when it comes to software (I'm a videogame developer) I'm brand new to the reprap universe and might be considered "mechanically challenged" when it comes to nuts and bolts building (pun intended).

I've got a full kit, all parts, electronics, etc. for a Mendel --- now I just need to throw it all together (sic).

Does anyone know of a good set of assembly videos/images/walk throughs? I did manage to get the box unpacked so that's a plus, but now I'm staring at what my friend described as an Ikea nightmare extraordinaire.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers - Josh
Re: Noob Mendel assembly help
July 09, 2010 12:44AM
What type of kit is it. RP, Lasercut from Botmill, Isaac, Ponoko lasercut?

If it's RP go to youtube
[www.youtube.com]

I uploaded a video showing all the steps.

repraplogphase.blogspot.com
July 09, 2010 12:36PM
Thanks for the reply!

I don't honestly know which type (my noob-ness surfaces.... smiling smiley I believe it's laser cut, I got the kit from the guys at: [techzonecom.com]

I did see those videos but I think my kit is a bit different. Is it reasonable to assume they are close enough such that the difference between the "RP" and (guessing) laser cut would allow me to follow the videos? the parts look similar, though I'd have to frame my way through it to be sure.

Any other info would be great - as in, what type do I have from Techzonecom.com and are there any videos specific to building it.

This said I was able to assemble the Y idler by referring to the pictures at: [reprap.org].

Maybe "all" I need to do is follow those assembly images? That said, even putting the Y Idler together raised questions, like: How tight should the screws be? Do the bearings need to float or should the be relatively or firmly tight against the main piece?

Thoughts?