Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Total Novice trying to setup and having trouble prusa 2020 i3

Posted by darkechibi 
June 24, 2015 04:17PM
Ok guys a little data first, I am not an engineer, mechanically inclined or even heavy into hardware tech (anymore). I know more about PC technology than the average layman and thats about it, so please go easy on me, and slowly.

I recently bought a reprap prusa i3 2020 complete kit from folgertech.com via ebay. The kit arrived and to be honest I had some trouble getting it together, took about a week. I did however and it looked ok. I hook the unit up and no fires. So far so good. The unit is powered and I, still using the guides from folgertech, began the setup process. The unit is flashed/sketched with the settings suggested, and I start the software "repetier". I do the top to bottom entering the data as instructed. (on a personal note, I do wish I knew what I was doing and what everything means and as I go I intend to learn but right now...) I start the process of what the guide now says. I hit the home X button the extruder moves but not much. I hit Y and the extruder moves all the way back and begins to convulse as it hits the stop switch and does not stop. it eventually does after shaking very hard. I begin to do research as to why. I learn about checking the stops with M119, new problem. the left/right switch is not showing a "triggered" state, the up and down does, and the back and forth does, which oddly is what is not stopping the unit.

I am as I said no great shakes at this so if anyone can help I would appreciate it.
DC

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/26/2015 03:04PM by darkechibi.
Re: Total Novice trying to setup and having trouble
June 24, 2015 05:58PM
So... to summarize:

The X axis isn't moving.
The Y axis is moving, but it's not stopping at the end stop.

I'm going to assume you're using the ATmega boards and RAMPS 1.4 or so. If this is not true let me know.