Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marlin Hack

Posted by willenbrook 
Marlin Hack
August 04, 2015 05:11PM
Im currently using Rich Cattell's version of Marlin, and I want to make a small change to the program, but not to sure where to start, please help!

For the auto level probe im using a micro switch on the end of the servo. Everything works fine, apart from I get really bad servo jitter.

I know I can use ferrite beads on the motor cables to try and reduce it, but I thought i would take the opportunity to try my first marlin hack.

Iv read that in other versions of Marlin there is an option to disable the servo while moving, but I cant find this option in Rich Cattell's version. (I think you can guess where im going with this)

Basically what I want to do is cut the relevant bit of code from the relevant version of marlin, and paste it into Rich Cattell's version.

Im a mechanical engineer by day, so programming isn't really my strong point, but I really want to learn!
Iv been through the Arduino tutorials a few months ago, so i have a basic understanding of the language.

Can someone point me in the right direct just to get me going with this.
Are there any decent tutorials to read through?
What is the best program to use for editing the code? Im currently using the default Arduino editor.
Is what I want to do even possible, or easy to do?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Re: Marlin Hack
August 05, 2015 04:21AM
Can´t help with the Marlin hack, but wanted to ask, if your servo has a decent 5V power supply?
The 5V regulator usually isn´t up to the task...
-Olaf
August 10, 2015 10:44AM
I've attached a zip file with two files you need. This includes a patch for servo leveling taken from Marlin main stream.

Give it a try and let me know if it works or doesn't smiling smiley I'll be able to officially test this later tonight on my kossel.

Cheers,
Mark aka thetazzbot

PS