Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder Bootloader / USB-serial module / host software & Linux Driver issues! YAY!

Posted by KmE 
KmE
Extruder Bootloader / USB-serial module / host software & Linux Driver issues! YAY!
September 08, 2010 03:45PM
Hello fellow Reprappers!(?)
I'm just starting out on my reprap build and have a few initial hurdles! eye rolling smiley Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
I'll separate them to be more clear:

[1] Is this usb to serial module suitable?
    [2] Does anybody know how to install the drivers for the usb/serial module in ubuntu 10.04.1?
    [3] I'm getting an error code when trying to upload the bootloader to the extruder board- what does it mean?

1. I bought this module from ebay:
[cgi.ebay.co.uk]
Is this a suitable replacement for the module in the wiki, or am I going to need that specific module/cable?

2.I'm trying to use Ubuntu instead of windows as it handles its resources more efficiently- unfortunately I'm completely clueless when it comes to installing hardware under Linux and so need some help getting it to work! Do I need to compile a driver? How would I go about doing that? erm... Help?! confused smiley

3.I'm using this USBtinyISP bootloader from ebay:
[cgi.ebay.co.uk]
I was initially having problems as the Arduino software didn't support the ATMEGA168P which came with my board. I read this [www.arduino.cc] thread on the Arduino forum which fixed that initial problem by adding some amended code to the boards.txt file.
Now however I have a new problem- I'm getting the following error code and I have no idea what it means!?

avrdude: invalid byte value (null) specified for immediate mode
avrdude: write to file 'null' failed

If anybody can help or offer any advice it would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Re: Extruder Bootloader / USB-serial module / host software & Linux Driver issues! YAY!
September 15, 2010 03:13PM