Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Motherboard Construction

Posted by Milly 
Motherboard Construction
November 28, 2010 07:45AM
Hi,

I am slowly working my way through building a Mendel and am working on the electronics. It's a step into the dark for me as it's my first attempt at working with SMD components. I tried the reflow technique used in the wiki but have not been successful in creating a working board. I wonder if anyone on here can provide any assistance?

During the build process I ran into several problems. Firstly, it would appear I cranked the heat on the stove up a little too much, just as the solder started to melt a bubble appeared on the board, along with a burning smell. I killed the heat and the board returned to normal. Despite this incident the reflow appeared to work quit nicely with the solder forming nice joints. The only apparent problem from the bubble forming was that it had severed one of the bridges between the two PCB layers, but it was quite easy to repair with a piece of wire an a soldering iron. I double checked the rest of the board with a multimeter and there appeared to be no further problems.

Is it possible that I have cooked some of the components? I'm most concerned for the ATMEGA644P as the bubble formed within two centimetres of this microchip.

I then did a check for bridges and any other problems before hooking the board up to a USBTiny programmer. The power LED on the board lights, but when I try to load the boot loader it returns an error (rc=-1), which I understand to mean that the programmer can't communicate with the micro controller. I know the programmer is working as the red light flashes when is tries to communicate.

On further examination of the board I found a bridge across the 16Mhz crystal which I rectified. Would applying power to the board with this bridge have done any damage?