Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Starting from scratch

Posted by tony woollacott 
Starting from scratch
February 08, 2011 07:26AM
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to RepRap and am hugely excited to get going. I want to build a Huxley, but am finding it very difficult to locate the plans. Could someone help me please, to get all the info required?
I do all my work in Inventor, but if I could get any format that is accepted I would be most greatful, even pdf would be fine.
Many thanks,
Tony
Re: Starting from scratch
February 08, 2011 07:35AM
Tony

Stupid question, but have you checked out the Huxley page on the wiki?
February 08, 2011 07:55AM
yes I have, but all I can find are things with .cfg and .stl which I cant open and therfore mean nothing to me.
February 08, 2011 08:35AM
Try here:
[reprap.svn.sourceforge.net]

Unfortunately, theres nothing there thats easily importable into Inventor. There is a .stl import plugin, but its not cheap.
February 08, 2011 09:19AM
At least one of the open source CAD programs can open .stl and export STEP. HeeksCAD or FreeCAD, or maybe both or neither. I know I saw it though. A free trial of Alibre might do it for you too.
February 08, 2011 09:37AM
Thanks, I am sure that will be a good place to start.
February 08, 2011 10:06AM
Ok, had a look at these free CAD packages and they all seem to be able to write an stl file, but none of them can read one. It looks to me like stl is simply a file to make it easy to print, so I would imagine that is why it is in this format in the first place ie. 3D printing.
How did you guys start? what did you do to get your first machine built?
February 08, 2011 11:01AM
How will you be building it? i.e. why do you need the CAD files?

If building out of wood, there are easier designs to build in wood than a huxley.