Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ultimaker vs MakerGear Prusa

Posted by stackman 
Ultimaker vs MakerGear Prusa
June 06, 2011 10:11AM
I'm new to 3D printing, and have been trying to come up to speed on the options available. I'm looking to buy a kit or completed printer that is somewhat idiot proof, because if the build is too involved I know that I will not have the time to see it through to completion. I've been looking at the MakerGear Prusa versus the Ultimaker, and I'm trying to better understand the pro's / con's to each printer. Any thoughts/recommendations?
Re: Ultimaker vs MakerGear Prusa
June 06, 2011 12:33PM
Build volume is about the same. Construction would probably be about the same. Adjustment and calibration would likely be easier on the ultimaker since more of the smooth rod constraints are defined by the laser cut board rather than nuts and a jig. Never built an ultimaker, but I have built both a Prusa and a Makerbot. Ultimaker boasts a very fast print head travel speed. Don't know if that translates into faster prints overall or not. Prusa would likely benefit from community upgrades to a greater extent.
June 06, 2011 09:00PM
Thank you bryanandaimee. You mentioned that you have built a Makerbot and Prusa. What is your opinion of Makerbot versus Prusa? I realize its purely superficial, but the Markbot packaging is very visually appealing. It is one of the reasons I'm intereseted in Ultimaker, it looks cool!
June 06, 2011 09:47PM
Prusa has a heated bed. The lack of any heated build platform on the ultimaker would be a deal breaker for me. ABS is my material of choice and bad things happen if the bed is not heated.
June 07, 2011 09:03AM
stackman Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> if the build is too
> involved I know that I will not have the time to
> see it through to completion.

Then you only want to look at Prusa variants.