Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is it okay to not to use smooth rods in 3d printer

Posted by erensatik 
Is it okay to not to use smooth rods in 3d printer
June 19, 2023 05:56AM
Hello everybody. I recently decided to build a delta 3d printer (almost like rostock). This is my first build. So I'm rather new to all of this, anyway. Access to smooth rods is not very easy in my country. Would it be okay if I were to buy stainless steel rods with h9 tolerance. I thought maybe sanding and polishing could work. Would it work? I have lm8uu bearings but I've read that it would damage stainless steel. Can I use plastic bearing, would it last? Or I can just use bronze bushings. I can change to v slot's at worst case. I need a Iinear guide of some sort and need some guidance at the moment. Could anyone help?
Re: Is it okay to not to use smooth rods in 3d printer
June 19, 2023 06:40AM
How good your prints are depends on the parts in the printer. Having said that, I think that most people who make their own 3D printer do it for the pleasure of making and the first successful prints will be a delight to their eyes. Replacing parts like rods and bearings can come later and with finding what is causing the most problems.
There are many people on this, and on other forums, who will tell you that only the best parts will do - often forgetting that they used gas pipe for rods, wood for the frame, and stepper motors from surplus 1980s printers on their own first constructions.
So, Yes. As long as the bearings don't actually rattle on the rods and have no noticeable stiff spots. Check each rod against the others to see if they are sensibly straight.
Quite important things on a Delta printer are that the spacing of the smooth rods is as accurate as you can get it and that all of the Delta rods are exactly the same length. Above all, build it so that parts can be replaced and adjustments can be made.
Mike.
June 23, 2023 01:29AM