Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Almost printing!!!

Posted by alnmike 
Almost printing!!!
July 13, 2011 08:50PM
Hello all, I have finished assembling my first reprap, a Prusa. Ive got two major things to figure out before printing starts. One, is the temperature of the hot end. I set it starting at 200, going up in increments. The last one I tried was 280, somewhere around 260, my software reading jumps to around 330, my question is how do I get the most accurate results? I have no programming knowledge whatsoever, im more mechanically inclined.

Now for the problem that has put me at a standstill. One of my motors, and I just noticed a second one, is getting extremely hot, without moving. Sometimes it clicks or jerks when its supposed to stand still, and almost always gives off a whirring sound, that changes pitch based on trimpot setting. The other motor gives no warning when it overheats. Ive tried turning the trimpot down, but then its unable to move the reprap. The controller on the arduino (im running ramps 1.3 assembled kit) doesn't get warm to the touch. Ive taken the wires off the controller and inspected them, they look like a sturdy connection with no shorting. Think I might have a controller or motor problem? The X axis is the main concern, but the Y axis was the one that surprised me by getting hotter without any warning.
The first time I noticed the heat, it was almost too hot to hold, but after letting it cool down, and powering up the reprap again, the motors all moved great again.
Re: Almost printing!!!
July 13, 2011 11:14PM
Have you made sure the wires on the thermistor are not touching each other? 280C is incredibly hot, I extrude PLA on my Mendel at 175C just fine

July 14, 2011 12:14PM