Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My Mendel Build

Posted by yellow_fish 
My Mendel Build
September 20, 2011 07:05AM
After a fairly spontaneous decision, I've teamed up with my dad to build a mendel. This project is going to be a rapid one, seeing as I'm about to start my Masters next week I think I've got 2 months before my uni workload is going be ridiculous! I'm studying engineering (Aeronautical) at The University of Leeds and I've managed to get the backing for the head of teaching to get full access to workshops ect. This means that if I need to i have access to CNC lathe and milling machine as well as a wire erroder for more complex shapes should I need it.

The uni also has a 3D printer so i will be making the parts from ABS out of that, uni has accounts with a few suppliers and an educational discount and its likely that hardware will either come from farnell or RS. I've done a fair bit of reading so I'm happy that i know how the machine works and the control systems associated with it. I'm hoping to make this from a scratch, only buying in parts when I don't have the time to make them myself. An exception to this might be the electronic, although I'm comfortable designing circuits and can simulate them in SPICE i think that in the interests of saving time they are likely to be brought in. This build in general should be relatively cheap as I want to know 1st hand how accessible the technology really is, but money will be spent on quality equipment. The saying 'buy cheap, buy twice' is very true so there is likely to be some extravagant purchases along the way!