Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

End Stop Help Needed

Posted by Pole04 
End Stop Help Needed
November 16, 2015 10:36PM
I just finished building and configuring a new HICTOP Purusa i3 all with metal frame and I could use some help/advice. I am a complete newbie with 3D printers and need some help.

The printer ships with the Cura software and for the time being that is what I am using. I have made a few successful prints but I have a lot of work to do to get quality prints from the machine.

It does not seem like the endstops are working correctly/at all. When I print in Cura the printer does some initial movements of the extruder and I hear motors grinding left and right. It is trying to force the axis' to their end position which they are already at. If I move the printer using the control panel knob it will also try and move down the axis even if it has already hit the endstop switch.

Is there a way to test these endstops and see if they are working? Or is there something in Cura that I need to configure to get the endstops working?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/16/2015 10:37PM by Pole04.
Re: End Stop Help Needed
November 17, 2015 11:29AM
My Migbot replica has been doing this. I noticed that the wires to one endstop weren't even soldered. That is going to be my first attempt at fixing the issue, check the soldering of the terminals. Otherwise, I wish I could help more but I am currently dealing with this problem as well.
November 17, 2015 04:59PM
You can use a digital volt meter to measure resistance, if it's open, it should not change the current display (mine shows a 1 aligned to the left, meaning infinity), if you close the switch it should be close to 0. Next see if the end stops are detected using the M119 command. First check if it detects the end stops while open, then check if the end stops are triggered.