Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Frustration

Posted by philpow 
Frustration
November 28, 2016 05:30AM
Hi I am new to 3D printing but as I have some engineering background after looking at what was going on I thought I would give it a go!
I mean what could go wrong!!!!!!!!!
I chose the Anet A8 as it seemed to have a fair following and a reasonable reputation and the price suited my retired situation I am 67 by the way.
Upon receipt of the printer I discovered a number of poor design areas but I had already seen that most of these were already dealt with and I would be able to print modifications to things like the 1.5mm misalignment error of the Z axis nut and guide rod.
Assembly was no problem and I soon had it all powered up ready to go I chose one of the items on the sd card supplied to print and pressed go and as soon as things were up to temp it started sadly while it was going through the motions of printing nothing was coming out of the extruder however if i pushed the PLA by hand it did.
For two months now I have been trying to find a way of connecting my computer Windows 10 to the board
while there seem to be plenty of information out there on you tube for instance they are all talking to people who are as far as i'm concerned from another planet.
So having I hope given the background to my situation.
I will proceed I have tried connecting the extruder motor to an axis output and found that it works fine as does the connecting cable but the output from the board when connected to a different motor is not, ergo I want to see if it it a firmware problem or a component one.
To do this I need to connect my computer to the board .
Which version of cura should I use.
how do I get my computer to see the board it recognises a connection but does't connect.
If anyone can help please do.
Also what machine do I tell Cura I have
Re: Frustration
November 28, 2016 11:21AM