Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advice with heated bed & surface

Posted by all 
all
Advice with heated bed & surface
February 22, 2017 01:47PM
I am brand new to 3D printing, just finished building a Purse i3 clone and I am currently using painters/masking tape on the heated bed. It is a pain because it sticks to the bottom of objects and its hard to remove from the bottom of the object. So I have some questions.

* I understand that because I am using an auto level sensor I cannot use a glass plate on the bed. So is there anything else that I can use to get PLA to stick instead of painters tape that will not be a pain to remove from a finished print object?

* If painters tape is the way to go, how do you clean-up the print's bottom to clean off the tape residue? I know acetone will help but may warp the PLA object, is there another way?

* I have tried printing on the metal bed itself but PLA does not stick (nozzle @210, bed @60).

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Al
Re: Advice with heated bed & surface
February 22, 2017 03:49PM
With pla.
I use blue painters tape usually at about 45-50, maybe i have been lucky but i never had it get stuck to the print .
Part usually just pops off after letting the bed cool down.
I have allso had good results from using glue stik directly on the alluminium bed at about 40-50 degrees

I dont think acetone has any effect on pla.
February 23, 2017 09:37AM
Honestly, given how tricky it can be to get the first layer to stick, I think that having a part stuck to the bed a bit too well is an acceptable trade-off or overcorrection, if you will.

I recommend investing in a good part chisel with a very thin edge and flat blade--gently work it under the finished part and pry it off.

It requires some patience to remove a part that is stuck fast to the bed without causing damage, but I think that is still preferable to the alternative of a noodly, goopy mess, wasted filament and several aborted prints.