Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z-offset Calibration lost. head "sinks" during Z-Offset calibration.

Posted by aDub 
September 15, 2023 10:26AM
First up, I'm a noob. so apologies for missing knowledge.

Kit Tronxy XY-2 Pro running latest version of Marlin firmware 2.1.2.1 2003-05-16. Slicer Ultimaker 5.4.0

Too long to read

Having set up the Z axis offset, I have printed some test cubes. I have also designed some parts in Fusion 360 and successfully printed them. All is okay except occasionally after the first print after switching on (and bed levelling) the head crashed into the bed when printing started! (WHY is there no STOP button on the front panel?)

Thinking that I had not stored the Z offset, I recalibrated, and again after switching off and on several limes (after finishing jobs), the Z-offset was lost again! (or so I thought!)

Today, I decided to re calibrate the Z-offset, being very careful to ensure that I followed the correct steps, I set it to 0.25mm as my starting point. Then while still in the same mode (Probe Z-offset | 0.025mm step), I re-watched a video to ensure that I was following the procedure correctly. After a few minutes I could hear vibration coming from the Z stepper and checked the head/bed gap. It was zero! I raised the head a few thou, and sure enough, it lowered into the bed again after a few minutes!

I would like to seek your advice before pulling the machine apart. There must be hold current being applied, otherwise the head would instantly sink and there would be no vibration heard or felt.
I wonder if the hold current is correctly set for this and indeed the other motors?

additional observations.

• While sliding the feeler gauge, one can feel the head "bouncing" under the control of the stepper.
  • on finishing a job, on one occasion, the head was observed moving slowly left to right!

any suggestions gratefully received

Kind regards
A

New to 3D printing Tronxy XY-2 Pro running Marlin