Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A route for distributed electronics manufacturing ?

Posted by seumag 
A route for distributed electronics manufacturing ?
February 19, 2024 03:15PM
Hey, greetings to everyone.
I'm a physicist based on Santiago, Chile. During my degree I became interested in thin films and solid state technology, and by chance I ended up working with a deposition technique called pulsed laser deposition (PLD).

This may be a bit far fetched, but I was wondering if it may be of interest to someone on the community. Basically I've been working for a while on a variation of the aforementioned technique which may prove useful as a tool for quick prototyping for material deposition and device fabrication/integration. In particular I believe it may become a viable route for the distributed fabrication of integrated circuits and electronics components.

I've begun writing some documentation on the project PLD MM, for anyone interested.

To be brief, the idea is to use a relatively cheap laser engraver to generate a vapor phase out of solid targets in a vacuum or controlled atmosphere. The flow of matter is then modulated by a mask with apertures (stencil or shadow mask lithography) made out of metallic foil to generate a certain geometry over a substrate.

Now the relatively novel part is that the mask(s) are placed on top of a conveyor mechanism which allows the sequential deposition through many different masks. Add the capability to select the material which is ablated by the laser (which is quite trivial) and you could in principle generate complex devices without braking the vacuum or doing any external process to the substrate.

I've already generated a proof of concept based on a preexisting PLD system(which unfortunately I've lost access to before being able to generate functioning devices). Here's a small writeup.