Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hello All New Build NOOB!! confused smiley

Posted by Fuzzy 
Hello All New Build NOOB!! confused smiley
June 07, 2010 02:26PM
Hi all UK builders,
I'm New to the Reprap world and based down in oxfordshire.
I'm gonna be building a mendel (groan another build blog)
Purchases (orders more like) so far are the majority of the electronic componets for the pcbs and and the pcbs themselves.
Having a little trouble finding some of the IC's in less than 50 quantity bulk orders. moody smiley
I think many have spent far to long reading Nophead's Blog as I am having far to many ideas already but haven't even made my own yet.
The bit I'm dreading at the min is the sourcing of the printable parts but I promise I will try not to pester people for them and will endevour to find some on ebay that are less than £300 (good luck me).

Moneys spent so far
Electronic components - £76.70
PCB - (awaiting invoice when boards made)

Electronics still needed
- 15pF ceramic capacitor 1206 x 4
- Atmega644p tqfp x 1
- A3982 x 3
- A3949 SOIC x 2
- 10 pin female header x 4 (know not inportant)

So far I'm only making up the PCB's and will then move onto the next parts after.
All the electronics have been ordered from Mouser Electronics
and the PCB's from iprint3D
If anyone knows of a source in the uk for the remaining electronics please could the let me know.

Fuzzy
Re: Hello All New Build NOOB!! confused smiley
June 08, 2010 05:59AM
u can try Maplin for your parts.

good luck
June 08, 2010 08:23AM
I've used Farnell and RS Components for a lot of electronics. Typically the smaller components (resistors, caps) come in 10/25/50 strips, and they're so small and cheap it's handy to have some spare.
Maplin are good but they don't have such a range. Farnell and RS both carry so much that finding the exact thing you want is sometimes a problem:-)

Welcome to the RepRap world!