Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprap policies

Posted by proctor 
Reprap policies
December 04, 2011 05:13PM
I looked at a couple posts, and i'm still very confused. I am developing some new ideas and i want to make some improvements. I am a student and this can be pretty expensive. i just wanted to know what were the exact policies about selling assembled repraps or reprap based printers (i'm showing a new design pretty soon) to finance my research and development of these ideas. Thanks for the support
Re: Reprap policies
December 04, 2011 05:51PM
It's an open-source community; there pretty much are no "policies." Go hog wild!
December 04, 2011 06:19PM
I dont know if i understand licensing myself properly, but here is how i get it. The huge portion of reprap is GPL, in which case everyone can *use* it regardless, you can pretty much do anything you like with it, including getting profit over *using* it, but you cant sell the design itself. Additionally still have obligations to:
- give credit
- in case you make any derivatives (changes, tweaks), you have to 1)release them to public, and 2)under same GPL license! (obviously cant take a GPL design and make it proprietary).

Note that the right of *using* something is distinct from the right of *selling* it (e.g. a lease or rental).

You use the design, meaning you can print parts, make printers, sell printers, do w/e of that sort, for a profit or whatever. That means *using* the design, e.g. you used the design in making those objects. The money you charge may reflects the plastic used, your time, your profit, food for your cat, your beer charges, or anything you like, except that you cant charge for the design itself, since it wasnt yours (not proprietary) to start with. Even if you would have a buyer for the design itself, you obviously cant sell it, again its not yours.