Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

NoClassDefFoundError: gnu/io/PortInUseException?

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
NoClassDefFoundError: gnu/io/PortInUseException?
July 29, 2008 11:32PM
I'm just getting started. I tried installing the host software and all the required java components. When I attempt to launch reprap-host.bat, I get:

C:\cygwin\home\Greg\dev\reprap\reprap-host-20080523>java -cp ".;.\reprap.jar;C:\Program Files\Reprap\;C:\Program Files\Reprap\reprap.jar;C:\Program Files\Java\shared\*" -Xmx384M org/reprap/Main Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: gnu/io/PortInUseException

This sure sounds as though it is somehow not finding the rxtx libraries. Am I right? I didn't see anything in the instructions about modifying the CLASSPATH or anything. Do I need to add something?
Re: NoClassDefFoundError: gnu/io/PortInUseException?
July 30, 2008 08:09AM
Yes looks like Java cannot find the rxtx libs

I can replicate this error if I move RXTXcomm.jar out of ...lib\ext\

I presume you are using windows, double check all the three required rxtx files are in the correct place [rxtx.qbang.org]

had a problem in the past, not reprap related, with more than one version of the JRE on the same machine not sure if this is the case here
Anonymous User
July 30, 2008 11:28AM
My rxtx files:

Greg@Alice:/cygdrive/c/Program Files/Java
=>find -iname "*rxtx*" -exec ls -l {} \;
-rwxr-xr-x 1 Greg None 47421 Jul 27 10:49 ./jre1.6.0_07/bin/rxtxParallel.dll
-rwxr-xr-x 1 Greg None 77759 Jul 27 10:49 ./jre1.6.0_07/bin/rxtxSerial.dll
-rwxr-xr-x 1 Greg None 59464 Jul 27 10:42 ./jre1.6.0_07/lib/ext/RXTXcomm.jar

I think that's all the rxtx components, in their rightful places with reasonable permissions.

So is it possible my windows system isn't defaulting to the most recent jre for some reason? I have accumulated several jre's:

Greg@Alice:/cygdrive/c/Program Files/Java
=>ls
Java3D/ jre1.6.0/ jre1.6.0_03/ jre1.6.0_07/