Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Objects library sharing

Posted by Cyberwan 
Objects library sharing
June 25, 2009 02:17PM
Hi everyone !

I'm quite new to the RepRap project, but I really think the concept is innovative and will be used massively in the future. One thing that came to me is about sharing the objects library. For now, there are only a few available objects on the site, which one can download and "print" with the Java application. In the future, there may be thousands of objects, and I think about the end-user who got a RepRap from his neighbor and wants a pair of shoe. Will he have to go to the site and find among the objects, the one he wants ?
Of course not, he should open his favorite application, go to the Clothe section, the to the Shoe sub-section, and watch pictures to find the shoes he wants. When he's found the right one, he chooses the color, and the machine starts. !

I think this project deserves someone to think about it. There should be a secured distribution system, probably taking the experience of the debian packages system, as an Object may depend on other objects, which version may change, etc.. I've been thinking about it on the last days, from the data storage to the user interface, packaging an object into a file to transfer it easily, etc ... And there's a lot of work !

Has someone thought about it already ? If not, I would be glad to open a Sourceforge project, start discussions, find what the user needs, then find a technical solution, and code !
I think this has to begin now, so that when a fully-featured replication machine is designed, this part will be mature and will not limit the possibilities of this great system.

What do you thing about it ?
Re: Objects library sharing
June 25, 2009 03:25PM
starting with
[www.thingiverse.com] ?

:-)

Nice idea

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/25/2009 03:26PM by David Reynolds.

---
Reprapping blog and other rants: [renoirsrants.blogspot.com]