Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRapPro + SainSmart RAMPS 1.4 + LCD

Posted by junkelsplitsy 
RepRapPro + SainSmart RAMPS 1.4 + LCD
October 16, 2013 07:11AM
My kit-built Mendel Mono from RepRapPro recently went on the fritz, so I attempted to rectify the problem by swapping out the suspect Melzi board with a RAMPS 1.4 Board / ArduinoMEGA / LCD combo purchased up from SainSmart.com. It is not going well.

I've read just about every post, tutorial, and read-me on the topic and either I am not absorbing the right info or my brain isn't processing it. I am in need of assistance.

I've installed the new board as the documentation directed, following the wiring diagram from the RAMPS wiki page. I have been able to upload firmware but after doing so I don't get the same kind of response to pronterface commands that I am accustomed to: the movements are jerky and way too intense for the little all-thread frame. I think my major issue is exactly what lines to uncomment/comment in the arduino sketch and what values to assign to machine-specific variables. I can't get the dang LCD to work either.

The first problem I think I need to tackle is properly setting my stepper potentiometer. I thought the basic method was to turn the little screw CCW all the way to the left and then back off ~25%, and make adjustments from there. I figured I'd even see if I could quantify it with my multimeter but I might have a fundamental problem - some of my Pololus' screws turn CCW indefinitely - so I'm not sure where 0% is... 3/5 of the little baby driver boards work as I expected, they only turn so far then stop - the other 2 just spin and spin. Tried to match the orientations as best I could. Not exactly sure how to dial them in but I haven't fiddled with it too much.