Extruder Jams after a few layers.
March 13, 2012 10:14PM
Hi all,

I am fairly new to this whole Reprap thing, but I built a Prusa Mendel back in December, and I have successfully been printing since Christmas. However, recently every time I try to print, the machine works fine for about 10-15 minutes, and then the extruder jams. I have taken everything apart and cleaned it, replaced the hobbed bolt, and it still jams. Has anyone else had this problem, and what should I do?

I am using Wade's geared extruder, with a Makergear hot end and 0.5mm nozzle. Printing in 3mm PLA, with Skienforge, Pronterface, and RAMPS 1.4. My original bolt was hobbed with an M4 tap, but this time I used the Dremel cut-off tool technique to create a more aggressive bolt. This did not improve anything (The bolt just chews up the filament when it jams). Prior to this, I have printed for about 30 hours problem-free. This is starting to get frustrating angry smiley. Any suggestions would be gratefully accepted.

I also attached pictures of the jammed brass tube from my hot end, after I removed the PEEK/PTFE insulator, the nozzle, and the heat core.

Thanks. smiling smiley

Re: Extruder Jams after a few layers.
March 13, 2012 10:49PM
Have you recently switched to a new roll of PLA, possibly a different color from the same source or from a different source? I've found that temperature settings which are perfect for one roll aren't always appropriate for a different roll. I am guessing you are overheating this PLA, causing it to become harder to force thru the nozzle, which may have some burnt material inside it. Once you get the nozzle cleared try heating it with a torch and then shove a wire thru to clean out any obstructions. Also, check groovemount cold end, it's possible that it started melting and caused a lip between it and the barrel, which the filament will expand to fill and make it difficult to extrude past.
March 13, 2012 11:17PM