First Build Questions
December 10, 2013 08:54AM
Hi all! I am researching and very slowly getting ready to a plan of attack together to build a 3D Printer, probably the Prusa i3...a kit is just way out of my price range (I'm a teacher), so I was thinking about putting it together in stages...getting the frame done and then moving onto to the next steps. I see on Ebay and Amazon smaller kits for different build stages and I was wondering if anyone had any experience with those? I've been studying all of the Prusa manuals on the RepRapWiki and my hope is to put a functional one together to show my students and then work with them to build their own.

One thing I know for sure, I want to include an SD card so I don't have to leave my laptop attached or worry about it shutting off mid-print.

Thanks!
~N

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/10/2013 08:56AM by BlaiddDrwg.
Re: First Build Questions
December 10, 2013 12:15PM
The price of a full printer kit is a very good way to judge what a printer will cost you. There are a number of them out there at a range of prices depending on exactly what you get. If you plan is based on "I can buy all this cheaper in bits and pieces" - that's likley not a good plan. If it's based on "I already have a big CNC machine and a free inventory of all the needed raw matterials" - that's a pretty good plan. It's not at all easy to match parts from different sources up. In many cases cheap parts are cheap because they don't work. eBay is a great place to find this and that. Roughly 95% of what you find is stuff you would not want to use.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/10/2013 12:15PM by uncle_bob.
December 10, 2013 01:27PM