Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What type of bed spring should I get?

Posted by BradStaff 
What type of bed spring should I get?
June 19, 2014 09:04PM
I am very new to 3D printing and plan to use springs on my Smartrap. What would be the best kind to get for my bed?
Re: What type of bed spring should I get?
June 21, 2014 12:35PM
the strongest you can find, and that fit around your bed screws!
June 21, 2014 12:36PM
victorjung
the strongest you can find, and that fit around your bed screws!
That's super vauge and obvious!
June 21, 2014 05:24PM
yes i know, but there is nothing more than that you should worry aboutsmiling smiley
June 21, 2014 05:36PM
I guess your right, I ordered some that looked strong and fit and I'll see how they dothumbs up
June 23, 2014 05:25PM
Pressa clothes pegs from Ikea have perfect springs.

[3DKarma.com] - suppliers of quality, affordable 3D printer kits and filament for the UK market.
June 27, 2014 11:10AM
The best spring to get is a design that doesn't use springs.
June 30, 2014 10:04AM
tjb1
could you suggest some? Cause I don't remember to have seen any?
June 30, 2014 12:58PM
victorjung
tjb1
could you suggest some? Cause I don't remember to have seen any?

It means hard mount the bed...nuts, washer, spacers..anything but springs.
June 30, 2014 05:01PM
You can see my last solution for this in attach.
Plastic dist get less heat down to aliminium support
Easy to adjust height of bed, just loosen the 2 nuts and adjust smiling smiley
Springs seems no point for me. You still have to adjust height proper. No value added with springs .....

Ha det gött
Bosse

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/30/2014 05:07PM by sidhabo.

Prusa i3 Reworked, Delivered March 28 2014, RAMPS 1.4
Göteborg, Sweden
Attachments:
open | download - HeatBedDist 001.JPG (208.9 KB)
June 30, 2014 05:37PM