Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Temperatures do not update when Heatbed turns on

Posted by Garfiled 
Temperatures do not update when Heatbed turns on
January 03, 2015 11:19PM
Hello RepRap Community,

I'm having issues with the USB Connection when the Heatbead turns on and would be very grateful if you could help me out.

First the specs of my Printer:

- Prusa I3 Frame from RepRapUniverse
- 400 Watt Micro-ATX Techsolo TPS 400 Power Supply (12V1 - 14A / 12V2 - 10A, Green Pwr_On Cable is Grounded)
- Ramps 1.4 on Arduino Mega 2560
- Heatbed MKII
- 100K Thermistor
- E3D V6 3mm Hotend

I'm building my Printer for 2 Weeks now so I'm still an absolute beginner.
The Printer is fully installed with all Motors succesfully tested.
So far I'm only using Pronterface via USB.

The Problem
When I turn on the Heated Bed in Pronterface both temperature readings (Hot End & Heated Bed) stop updating.
I can still use all functions of Pronterface like moving any axis or power up the hot end. Turning the power off (Hot End & Heated Bed) is also possible.
My device manager still shows the arduino as connected.
If I disconnect the connection via Pronterface I cannot reconnect it. (It says "Connecting..." in the Serial Monitor forever)

What I have found out
Even though it doesn't update the Temperatures the Ramps Board still shuts down the power of the Heatbed after the designated Temperature is reached.
The only way to reestablish the USB connection after a disconnect is to fully shut down the ATX PSU and cut off the USB connection.
I measured the voltage at the Ramps 12V Input and found out that if the Heatbed is powered it drops from ~12,4V to ~10.8V and recovers at ~11.0V.
I tried a bigger 700W ATX PSU with the same voltage drop.
If I power up the HotEnd only the Temperature updates just fine
After a full reconnect (OFF and On again) both Temperatures update as usual.