Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New UK Reprapper - Hello everyone.

Posted by richrap 
New UK Reprapper - Hello everyone.
July 22, 2010 05:31PM
Hello Reprappers

My first post - So go easy on me.

I'm an electronics engineer based in the UK.
I have spent the last month reading and viewing all I can about RepRap, the Wiki is really great, but I think it would be better for some of the historic (especially Darwin and older Mendel Firmware versions/instructions) sections to be archived or moved away from the get it, make it, use it sections.
Some great blogs out there, going back many years, I'm not sure how I missed this for so long.
I'm writing an introduction for new reprappers based on my month of experience and study into this great community, I'll post when it's done, I hope it should help people make some smart decisions early on and point out some areas I at least found tricky, especially what starting direction to go and how to start spending smart-money on parts & bits, as there are so many ways to make or buy a machine.

So I have my own designed RepStrap frame now assembled and have a week or so before I get electronics and motors, ABS is on order and I'm now designing a heated bed I can eventually re-use on Mendel.

This is such an ideal project and community, it covers all my favorite things, Electronics, 3D design, engineering and software - it's great to be part of it.

One obvious observation is that we don't yet seem to have an organised community of suppliers in the UK? (Unless I have just missed it) all of the parts I have ordered at the moment have been from the US, eBay and Europe (Germany) where things seem coordinated.
Ironic really as the RepRap research project started just a few miles away from me.
Is anyone thinking about setting up a central parts hub in the UK?

OK, this was just going to be an introduction so I'll post questions elsewhere, I have lots to ask about ideal build-base materials for a heated bed.