Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help! For a Noob trying to get a Mendel Prusa working

Posted by damienanderson 
Help! For a Noob trying to get a Mendel Prusa working
December 11, 2015 04:09AM
Howdy all,

OK so I am a complete noob who just bought a 2nd hand kit someone started but never finished.

I suppose the background on what my experience is may be helpful. I have used a 3d printer (xyz printer) at work (I'm a teacher) and am really good at designing and printing things. Thats not to much of an issue.

I thought (and still do) it might be a good idea to get a little more hands on with 3D printing. So I went on ebay and bought an almost complete 3D printer that someone built for loose change. I eventually plan on getting another kit and building a couple for school. I have been told its incomplete as it needs firmware calibration and flashing (yer, no idea what this is and what to do here) and opto ends need setup.

I have been able to play with frame and most parts seem to glide pretty well.

I have also had a good look at

[www.reprap.org]

electronics:
[reprap.org]

So I suppose I need to get a little bit of direction on what to do next.

I know I need a power supply (umm how, can I buy one, can I convert a laptop power cable if its the correct voltage?)

And i Guess what is next. Ill upload some photos (or as links, I hope these work) as they will be a lot more helpful.

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

[www.clipular.com]

I also assume I need to make the little bits of foil/aluminium as seen in the other persons clip, as they are missing from mine

[www.clipular.com]

Sorry for being all scatter brain on this, as I not sure where to start.

Thanks

Damien
Re: Help! For a Noob trying to get a Mendel Prusa working
December 11, 2015 11:22PM
OK,