Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

NEW and looking for some good input....THX!

Posted by 3deez 
NEW and looking for some good input....THX!
May 10, 2016 10:48PM
Hi. I am totally new with this, am excited to get started on a prusa i3 kit, and am looking for some advice from the community. Ive been reading, watching videos, and scouring online sources for a bit. I am looking to spend $300 - $400. If someone would comment on the following topics, I would greatly appreciate it:

1) Brand. Ive see a few brands mentioned for about 70% of what I see, and would welcome any input as to recommendation.

2) Frame type. I see a lot of acrylic and have read comments about brittle aspect being a negative (cracking when tightening screws?) Is aluminum truly a significant factor in performance and worth the extra $$?

3) AliExpress??? Ive seen quite a bit of mention buying here...pricing looks good. Comments on buying experience with the site?

4) LCD? How important/advantageous is this?

5) MISC. With the ability to upgrade parts, I am not sure how critical it is to buy something on the higher end of my budget that already comes with better parts (more capable?, higher quality?)..

Thank you so much in advance for anyone responding..
Re: NEW and looking for some good input....THX!
May 11, 2016 12:44AM
I have an acrylic model and it was a long journey to get it to perform well. Stiffening things was the hardest part. Creating feet that screwed down to a table proved to remove most of the chassis flex. Since then I have replaced every part except the chassis with new designs and it works pretty darn good. Knowing what I know now I would spend double the money to get something with a metal chassis and a quality build plate and heated bed design. For what it's worth, had I bought something that worked great right out of the box I wouldn't have learned as much as quick as I did. Good luck.
May 11, 2016 10:05AM
thanks for the post...
May 11, 2016 12:39PM