Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Folgertech Prusa i3 prints leaning tiny bit, and new hot end question

Posted by djjinksy 
Folgertech Prusa i3 prints leaning tiny bit, and new hot end question
March 22, 2016 03:03PM
Good afternoon, and thanks in advance for your time. I am relatively new to the world of 3D printing, but I love to tinker with things. I am very mechanically inclined, and I love RC flight, so building a printer to make my own parts sounded like a win-win. I went with the FolgerTech acrylic Prusa i3, and it has been a lot of fun so far. I have had minor problems with it here and there, and I've been throwing upgrades at it to try and chase things down. I have solved everything except one: as things get taller, they start to lean forward ever so slightly. Every 30 or so mm in height equals about 1-2mm of forward lean, always in the direction of Y home. Because the lean is so slight, it is definitely not the belt skipping, nor the Y drive pulley slipping, and certainly not adhesion. Sometimes the lean is so minimal, I have to use a carpenter's square to confirm the part is leaning. The bed is dead level, and I can print single layer sheets that are smooth as glass and thin as window tint.