Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa i3 (first timer problems)

Posted by neocorps 
Prusa i3 (first timer problems)
August 11, 2016 08:03PM
Hello Everyone!,

I am trying to build my Prusa i3 Einstein Variant, for the record I've never built any 3D printers but I have plenty of experience with a few. I wanted to build my own from scratch and I decided to use the Einstein Variant of the Prusa i3. It looked a bit complicated but hell, I like challenges. I was going to try and build it without asking questions, just checking forums and youtube videos but I have come to a stop for a few days now and I guess it's time to ask for help from experienced builders.

Here is my Setup:

- I'm using a hotend, thermistor, aluminum extruder assembly and stepper motor from a CubePro from work (the hotend broke and when I called customer support, they sent me the entire assembly so I ordered an extra hot end and now I have a free extruder which I inted to use), the stepper motor is model "M42STH47-1684S" [www.motioncontrolproducts.com]
- Ramps 1.4 w Arduino Mega 2560 (Marlin firmware)
- All other Steppers are Wantai 42BYGHW609L20P1-X1
- 500W Power Supply ATX

My Problems (right now)

- Extruder motor works when I wire it as if it was X motor, when I change the wires to Extruder in Ramps, then it just stutters as if there wasn't enough current, I calibrate the polulu board but still it won't move.
- Hotend won't reach 230 °C, it gets stuck at 183.3 and then ponterface kills it because it can't reach the temperature.
- I have a computer fan with 3 wires that I want to use as an extruder fan and I want to connect it to the RAMPS board, but I'm guessing it's not as easy as connecting just two wires, any thoughts?

I hope I can get this thing working soon. Thanks in advance.
Re: Prusa i3 (first timer problems)
August 11, 2016 11:39PM
You wont be able to extrude until you fix the temperature issue, it has to be hot before it will move.