Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PPA Polyphthalamide is there any way we can print with this?

Posted by Agent Tikki 
June 15, 2012 02:39PM

I like that this polymer is hard and strong and would like to print parts with it. After a little bit of looking I don't see anyone selling filament in it but wouldn't it be a good material to use? Its resilient, durable and hard...here's what I've found so far...

Mold Temperature Control Depending on the grade of AMODEL resin being pro-
cessed, either a water or oil heater will be required to
maintain the proper mold temperature. Amodel A-1000
series grades require mold temperatures of 275 F (135C)
and therefore require oil circulation units. All other
Amodel resins can use water units. The temperature con-
troller should be capable of maintaining heat transfer
fluid temperature to +/-3°F (2°C)

source: [www.scribd.com]

I am a newb and a laymen but I don't think that the mold tempurature is the same as the melting tempurature of PPA, but I can't seem to find anymore info on it.

Anyone have any info or insight or opinions?

Not sure but that seems like a pretty low tempurature. I know I'm a layman and don't know much, but I don't think the mold tempurature is the true meling tempurature of
Re: PPA Polyphthalamide is there any way we can print with this?
June 17, 2012 10:54PM
Mold temperature is approximately equivalent to our heated bed temperature, NOT melt temp.

www.Fablicator.com
June 18, 2012 03:19AM
according to this [books.google.com] the melting temperature is ~310C and glass transition is at ~127C, so pretty close to your "mold temperature". Thats really hot so I would say, probably we can't print with this using a PTFE/PEEK heater barrel design. With an all steel or a glass heater barrel it is possible I think. But if we can print with this then we might as well print with nylon. Both materials seem pretty hard to get in filament form.