Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Under extrusion after upgrade to bowden extruder

Posted by gabrielcr78 
Under extrusion after upgrade to bowden extruder
May 13, 2015 09:35PM
Hello All,

And many thanks in advance for any help you can provide on this topic as I'm fairly new at 3d printing.

So let me give you some details about the configuration of the printer I've assembled:

-Electronics: Ramps 1.4 + Arduino Mega 2560 running Marlin 1.0.2
-Motors: 5x 17HS840 stepper motors (they hold a max operating current of 1.8A)
-Motor drivers: DRV8825 configured at 1/32 micro stepping.
-Hotend: Single, E3D v6 1.75 mm (initially on direct extrusion and now bowden mount (yes there's the issue)
-Nozzle 0.4mm / for 1.75mm filament
-Not sure what other relevant information i can give you but if I'm missing something please let me know.

Now, at the beginning it was working like a charm, i was able to print on nice quality and didn't have any problems at all except for the speed i could print at. if i set the speed higher than 20 mm/s I had bad quality. Sometimes even steps loosing, which i fixed by measuring and calibrating all axis motors. nevertheless i noticed that sometimes if i raised the speed i had less quality and some times i had some clogging. which i fixed by dissasembing the whole hot end and cleaning part by part with lindustrial thinner (toluene+acetone+alchol...).

So.. after a few of those I decided to print the parts needed and go fo the bowden configuration, as many people says that gies you more precision and better prints by eliminating much of the inertia of the extruder (mainly because you remove the motor weight).

so as i was removing the old extruder i also printed parts for adding couple of cooling fans for PLA ( i had noticed that i strongly needed them) and a support for adding an autolevel sensor (yes now i know it's stupid to change so manuy variables at once, oh well).