Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DID I FRY MY BOARD?!!! confused smiley

Posted by shane.evans36 
DID I FRY MY BOARD?!!! confused smiley
January 24, 2013 07:57AM
Hey Gang,

So I'm a HS Teacher and I have been playing around with trying to get a 3D printer in my classroom so i bit the bullet and bought a RAMPS 1.4 kit and QU-BD extruder to see if I can get one going.

BUT I'm kinda new to this (AKA NoooooooooooBie).

I was trying to setup the firmware for the 3D Printer (DIY using an old Denford Micromill 2000 Axes assembly.) and I cannot get it to do anything...
Specs:
RAMPS 1.4 (w/ 5 Pololu Drivers)
Arduino Mega 2560
Repitier Firmware (also trying Marlin)
Repitier Host (also trying Cura)

Now here is my issue... I tried to set up the firmware to the best of my knowledge and was VERY overwhelmed by not knowing anything nor being able to find a step-by-step guide. I set up the firmware and uploaded it to the RAMPS board and tried to load up Repitier.
When I hit the connect button in the program the steppers did a mini spaz movement and then stopped.

I kept getting weird errors about the temp not showing up and 'Gen7'.

I come to find out later that 'Gen7' was the MOTHERBOARD setting and I was "Supposed" to change this to '33' (which is RAMPS.)
Now I figured out *fingers -crossed* all/most of the settings that need to be done.

I uploaded the firmware and everything is connected without errors but the steppers / heaters / etc will not do anything. The only thing that works is the temp sensor (reading ~20 deg C

PLEASE TELL ME I DID NOT RUIN AN $80 RAMPS bc the pins were supposed to do different things..... hot smiley

Any and all Help will be appreciated!
Thanks,
Shane
Re: DID I FRY MY BOARD?!!! confused smiley
January 24, 2013 09:58AM
Check the 12V power supply, make sure its getting to the pololu drivers and the heater mosfets.
January 27, 2013 05:46AM
It might be easier if you tried the RAMPS 1.4 test firmware:

[reprap.org]