Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Smartrap evolution, improvements...

Posted by smartfriendz 
Re: Smartrap evolution, improvements...
August 21, 2014 12:31PM
HI Guys,
Thanks for the huge amount of support, I will try to reply to everyone now.

RTurnock.
I have Arduino software on my PC and I have some experience with flashing firmware. Luckily enough the correct Marlin version is already on the board installed by Smartfriendz so thats one problem sorted.
If there is confusion about if heat sinks need to be used then i think i might go with the side of caution and buy and fit them. I have an old CPU heatsink that can be chopped into small pieces to fit the pololus. Then I will look into tuning the pots to get the motors running smothly.
I will get a gluestick and give it a go.

Regpye.
It's a cold bed, no heated bed yet. So i will try a bit of PVA after the gluestick to see what works best.
I agree about using heatsinks just in case it goes bad.
I will look into Marlin and see what thats about.
Serge is busy at the moment drafting documentation to send to the guys who got the new J-head lite. There is no documentation yet. I feel like I am spamming him because DHL lost my package for a week and i had to email him loads of times already about where the package was. As a side note, the J-head lite looks crap compared to the Aluminium fin heatsink head but as long as it works I am happy.

BackEMF.
Flashing: As above i have the software needed and don't need to flash the board but I will look into it.
I decided to go with heatsinks just in case it goes bad.
I will add Bison D2 to the lsit of bed coatings that I need try.

OK, i am going to get stuck into the machine now and see how far i get. I have looked at the other self levelling designs and i think i get it.
Regards
Mike

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/21/2014 05:31PM by mikefiatx19.
August 21, 2014 04:04PM
OK, unit is running and the heatsinks are fitted.